President Obama Signs Tennessee Disaster Declaration


President Barack Obama speaks to the media in Chilmark, Mass., in this Aug. 11, 2014, photo. Photo by Associated Press /Chattanooga Times Free Press.

President Obama signed a Tennessee Disaster Declaration Wednesday and ordered that federal aid be given to supplement state and local recovery efforts, according to a news release by the White House Office of the Press Secretary.

Aid will be given to areas affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding that occurred this year between June 5-10. The storms impacted Anderson, Bledsoe, Carroll, Decatur, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Lawrence, Lewis, Madison, Marion, Maury, McNairy, Moore, Perry, Roane, Sequatchie, and Tipton counties.

Federal funding will be available to state and eligible local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair and replacement of facilities damaged, according to the release. Federal funding will also be available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures across the state.

W. Michael Moore has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments, the report said.


See the original article here.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *